The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Topic:  Deomo sounds-PLEASE CLOSE
Larry Lenhart

Ponca City, Oklahoma
Post  Posted 27 Mar 2017 9:42 pm    

I am curious about the differences in tone of these vintage steels and was wondering if someone who has both steels could take the same amp, same settings and same song and play them as a comparison so I could get an idea of the differences in the Fender stringmaster and a Rickenbacker with a horse shoe pickup. I know thats asking a lot, but if anyone has both, I think it would be interesting to hear the differences. i have a stringmaster and love its sound, but I might like the Ricks sound as well.
Thanks in advance.
Zum Encore, Remington D8 non pedal, Hallmark Mosrite clone, Gretsch 6120 DSW, Gretsch G5210T-P90 Electromatic Jet Two 90,1976 Ibanez L5, Eastman archtop, Taylor Dreadnaught, Telonics pedal, Squire Tele, Squire Strat, Fender Tonemaster, Gold Tone 5 string banjo, Little Wonder tenor banjo, 3 Roland cubes 30s and 80, Carvin combo bass amp

Last edited by Larry Lenhart on 29 Mar 2017 10:44 am; edited 1 time in total

James Hartman

Pennsylvania, USA
Post  Posted 28 Mar 2017 10:03 am    

I have both. I tend to think of them as almost polar opposites, soundwise.

Not, at the moment here, set up for recording. Plenty of recorded examples of each readily available, which doesn't provide a controlled A/B comparison but certainly offers a fair sense of the rather different character of each.

Bill Creller

Saginaw, Michigan, USA (deceased)
Post  Posted 28 Mar 2017 6:09 pm    

Some amps ( tube types that I use) will sound nice with certain guitars, and not with others, which may sound better with a totally different amp.
I always suspected that the impedence (sp) of the guitar output, and the amp's input being matched....or not.. had something to do with it.(?)