The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Struggling with effects
Loren Depping

Lihue, Hawaii, USA
Post  Posted 18 Mar 2017 1:15 pm    

I've been playing pedal steel for a few years, but I've never really had much success getting "the sound" of steel right. My right hand technique probably contributes to this, but I suspect that my lack of knowledge about using effects, well, "effectively" also plays a part. I'm playing a LeGrande all-pull through a 112 with a Boss VF-1 attached (thank you, Larry Behm, for connecting me with ALL of these!). The 112 has a Black Widow in it and the Fox mod (again, thanks to Larry). I've been subbing the VF-1 in and out with a Boss RV-3 stomp box in its place, playing with settings, but I'm not getting the sound of steel that I hear coming from even intermediate players. Like I said, part of that is "operator malfunction," so my question is: does anyone out there have a recommendation for settings I should try for either the effects or the amp to get the best tone possible PRIOR to the all-important variable of my right hand? Am I using the wrong effects? If not, how should I be setting them (or the EQ on the 112)? Thanks for sharing your wisdom, all.

Steve Spitz

New Orleans, LA, USA
Post  Posted 18 Mar 2017 6:08 pm    

Loren,
Can you describe what it is about your sound you feel is lacking ?

You could do a search on the RV3 settings in Electronics and get something really nice, just as a starting point. Its been discussed here.

I recall Peavey showed a recommended EQ setting in the owners manual,for the E9 and C6 settings. Im guessing the manual is available online , or maybe one of the more tech savvy members will post a link.

If all youre after is the settings for the amp and RV3, that should be easy. You might also confirm the pickups are the proper distance from the strings.