The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Thumb Pick Problem
Ryan Zimmerman

Pennsylvania, USA
Post  Posted 13 Mar 2017 11:53 am    

I started playing steel when I was young, so I've outgrown several different sizes of thumb picks.

My first thumb pick was a generic clear plastic pick. I outgrew that and switched to a Dunlop Medium. I outgrew that one too and switched to my fathers old (c. 1980s) National Medium. I liked that pick, but in time it aged and got too loose (I think it was starting to crack). Since I liked it, I bought a new one. However, National had changed the design slightly, and the new pick was almost too small. (I prefer my pick fairly far back on the thumb.) I decided I'd try a bigger size, so I bought an National Large.

Both the new National Medium & the National Large have the same problem: while playing, they have a tendency to rotate slightly on my thumb. That makes me hit the wrong strings, etc. Most times, it's not too bad; I just adjust the pick between fills, but when it turns in the middle of a speed-picking break...

Has anyone else had this problem? Any ideas/suggestions?

FWIW, I do block some notes with my picking fingers, so perhaps that plays a part in this problem.

Andrew Wright

Indiana, USA
Post  Posted 13 Mar 2017 12:08 pm    

I'm not any good, so I'm not qualified to offer advice. I will say I use propik brand picks, which allow you to shape them to your thumb just the way you'd shape your other metal picks to your other fingers. I think that would solve your problem.

Carl Kilmer

East Central, Illinois
Post  Posted 13 Mar 2017 12:16 pm    

The best thumb picks I've ever used are the Dunop ULTEX mediums.
They are very comfortable and stay on tight without ever moving. Very Happy

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 13 Mar 2017 3:03 pm