The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Help! I need some inspiration!
Jim Fogarty

Phila, Pa, USA
Post  Posted 21 Feb 2017 10:31 am    

So.....I picked up my Stage One last spring and was hot and heavy with it for a while. I even did a few gigs......some more successful than others. But, since the winter hit, my motivation has dwindled. I still love it, and visit this site every day, but instead of sitting down behind the steel 2-3 times a day, it's become 2-3 times a week.

Part of the issue is, I'm a 25+ year professional working guitarist for my living (such as it is), and it's hard to dedicate time to an instrument that won't necessarily help my career. Also, if I'm not gigging it (or recording or rehearsing, etc), I'm not as motivated. I need a steel project! But, it feels a bit like even the great players amongst y'all can't get work anymore.

Still, I realize that this beast takes some SERIOUS time to get proficient, and I don't want to just let it lapse. I also play bass, mandolin, slide and a little piano and banjo.......and PSG is easily the most difficult of them. Far and away. But the little progress I made was also extremely satisfying, at the time.

Anyone want to help kick me in the ass???

Thanks! - Jim

PS......this is about where I got, in a couple months of work, before slacking off. I'm better and smoother now, but not nearly as much as I should be. ::sigh::

https://youtu.be/AQYyOEDN2PQ

https://youtu.be/Gk4B8L-7z10

Bud Angelotti

Larryville, NJ, USA
Post  Posted 21 Feb 2017 6:43 pm    

Quote:
Anyone want to help kick me in the ass???

Here you go Jim.
You must not expect anyone to appreciate the time it takes to "get good" on the steel.
Smile
Most folks just won't care.
IMHOP, The motivation has to come from within. You have to want it for yourself.
You do want to play the steel right?
Then CHALLENGE yourself to not only play, but to play really well.
You already know what playing well is.