The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Best valves brand for a vintage Fender BF deluxe reverb?
Ariel Lobos

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 10:25 am    

We need to replace the whole kit in a vintage 65 fender blackface deluxe reverb, do you know the best available today?

Don Mogle

Round Rock, TX, USA
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 11:21 am     Tubes

Ariel,

When I was having my Twin checked out and upgraded, my amp tech told me that the Tube Doctor tubes were fine tubes and warmer sounding than the JJs.

I went with the JJs just because they were less expensive (I was already shelling out some cash for the electronic upgrades). I have been using the Twin for several months now and the JJs seem fine to me. I put a 5751 in V-1 to allow for extra headroom for steel.

I believe Ken Fox used JJs in his amps and found them to be completely acceptable.

Finally, you could go the NOS route and get some GEs RCAs, etc. This option would be more expensive, but those tubes may be worth the extra cost. They seem to last a long time which may make them worth the extra expense.

Do a search on this topic and you will find a lot of posts. I hope you find something you are happy with.

Don

Ariel Lobos

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 11:43 am    

Thanks a lot for your answer Don. It seems those are good choices, old stuff is hard to find and i dont know exactly where to go for that.

Ken Fox

Nashville GA USA
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 1:03 pm    

I am a real fan of the JJ preamp tubes for the Princeton. The 6V6 by JJ is a true 14 watt tube, very clean. Might not be as soft a sound as you want for the power tubes. Just a thought.

Ariel Lobos

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 1:36 pm    

Good point Ken. We think in this amp for a smooth and sustaining crunch and overdrive. Which brand you think could fit better?. We need two 6V6, four 12 axt, two 12 at7 and one 5y3 rectifier.