The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Carter SD-10 6th string problem persists.
Bradshaw Pack

British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2017 6:42 pm    

Many of you have responded with your suggestions on how to fix the sixth string G#, however, nothing I have tried fixes the problem. To be more precise, here is the situation. When the G# is perfectly in tune, as soon as I tune the B pedal's half-step shift up to "A", then when the pedal is released the G# is wildly sharp. I have looked at and adjusted everything from the ball end of the rod all the way to the cross-shaft and then onto the changer. I am completely at a loss.

On the bright side, I have really been helped by the steel guitar community with a lot of suggestions and it was only last week that I signed up. Thank you to everyone.

Bradshaw

Edward Rhea

Medford Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2017 7:21 pm    

Hi Bradshaw, I'm no expert, and have no experience with a Carter...but it sounds to me, that pedal stops to soon? As a result, the 3rd string reaches the desired note, but the 6th doesn't. So to help it get there, you're having to tune the 6 at the nylon nut, and finding it sharp when the pedal is released...is that correct?
The issue sounds like "overturning", and it is...but the problem is the lack of travel, in my experience with my own guitar and a few others that I've had the pleasure of tinkering on.
I've found that once a larger diameter string, in this case, the 6th...is able to reach the note, the smaller string becomes way sharp, but that's easy to fix...just detune 3 at the nylon.
There must be a stop adjustment screw or something, that isn't agreeing with that 6string? Find it, back it off until you've achieved that A, lock it down and you should be