The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Need some advice
Brian Christiano

Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2017 11:12 am    

I have been playing at the PSG for about 5 years. I say playing at it, because I am a professional engineer by profession with my own business and play music for enjoyment.

I have been singing, playing guitar, some reso (Dobro) since 1996, but only picked up my steel in 2011. I really enjoy the challenge. I have played at the novice level at a steel convention locally a couple of times with strong encouragement.

I have played and sung with bands on guitar and dobro. However, never played steel with a band, which I believe I need to do to improve and grow. I was invited to play at a jam recently, did so for a couple of weeks, but was asked to not bring the steel back, but please come back, sing, and play guitar. My steel was not stellar. Some blow to my ego, but understandable.

My question, is how do you get better playing with a band if you are not on the "professional level"? That seems to be the key in all other endeavors to get better. It worked for Dobro, guitar, etc.

1992 Emmons Lashley LeGrande D-10, 1971 Martin D-28, 1959 Gretsch Country Club, 1964 Fender Band-Master, Peavey Nashville 400, Peavey Classic 30, Harlow reso

Coordinator for the South Carolina Steel Guitar Convention held in West Columbia, SC. May/Nov each year. Held at Bill's Music Shop and Pickin' Parlor.

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2017 11:34 am    

Look for an opportunity with other people. There are plenty groups that would love to have a pedal steel in the band. Don't be discouraged. It will happen.

Frank Freniere

The First Coast
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2017 3:01 pm    

What Jerry said.

They could have been a bit more diplomatic if they didn't want pedal steel but they did want you.

Roger Kelly

Bristol,Tennessee
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2017 3:04 pm