The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  sho-bud pickup problems // NYC Pedal Steel Repair
John Bohannon

New York, USA
Post  Posted 29 Dec 2016 12:30 am    

Hey folks!

Sorry for the relatively newbie post here. I'm a relative beginner at the pedal steel and bought my first pedal steel here on the forum earlier this year! However, my pickup on my sho-bud pro 1 3x2 has had some grounding issues. Any soldering / quick fix ideas you guys might have one these? Alternatively, if this isn't an easy fix, is there anybody based in the NYC area that might be able to fix it? I've found folks in jersey/CT, which I suppose I can resort to, but always easier to find someone here.

thanks for the guidance!

JB

Adam Pettis

Appleton, WI
Post  Posted 29 Dec 2016 8:22 am    

Hi John,
I gather you're getting a lot of hum? Does it change if you move the guitar?
I'm in Brooklyn and would be happy to give you a hand if need be.
Adam

Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 29 Dec 2016 10:24 am    

If you know any decent regular guitar techs, they should be able to handle this, you wouldn't need a steel tech. A Sho-Bud single neck has about the simplest wiring possible.

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 29 Dec 2016 10:31 am     Re: sho-bud pickup problems // NYC Pedal Steel Repair

John Bohannon wrote:

..... Any soldering / quick fix ideas you guys might have one these? ....

For simple stuff, first thing I'd look at is the output jack. See that there are no stray wires---frayed braids. Then I would loosen the jack and make sure that when tightened it is making good contact with clean metal of the body for a good ground.

Unfortunately I just moved from Brooklyn 2 months ago or else I'd be happy to help. Mike Nolan is a major Sho Bud presence (rebuilder etc.) in the NYC area (Queens). Find him here and he might be willing & able to help.

John Bohannon

New York, USA
Post  Posted 29 Dec 2016 2:03 pm