The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Fender Deluxe Reverb (Reissue) Frustration
Landon Evans

The Republic of Texas
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2016 3:03 pm    

So I'm trying to play pedal steel through a DRRI...

I bought my first pedal steel the day after Thanksgiving, and I'm trying to play through a tube amp. I know that's not what I'm supposed to do, but I figured I could make it work. I mean, guys used to play through tube amps. This is considered a very clean amp. I don't need loud volume (I'm just playing in my living room, and if I ever play live I'll mic it). And I'm no tone expert, so I figured I could get it to a place where it wouldn't bother me.

WELL IT'S BOTHERING ME. I feel like it's hindering my learning and my desire to play. I can't keep the thing clean! And I really don't understand how. I feel like I must be doing something wrong. First, I bought the Travis Toy Eminence Double T-12, which I was sure would give clean headroom. Better, but not a whole lot. So then I biased the amp WAY down. By way down, I mean all the way. (Granted, I think these new DRRIs have a threshold where you can't bias it really extreme). All this, and I still get some breakup with the volume knob on 3!

I was really hoping I could make this work, because I have two pretty nice guitar amps (this and a Dr. Z Maz 18 ) that I need to make use of. Plus, I just dropped a ton of money on an instrument that I won't be making any money off of for a good while, and I really can't afford to buy another amp just for pedal steel. I figured it'd be cool/unique/vintage to play with a tube amp. So far it's just really frustrating.

Any advice?

...Anyone want to trade a PSG amp for a Dr. Z or Deluxe Reverb??

George McLellan

Duluth, MN USA
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2016 3:32 pm    

I have the exact same amp & color. I use a DD2 into the
normal channel. Mine is clean and stock from Sweetwater.
Geo

John Goux

California, USA
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2016 3:42 pm