The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  need help for excessive hum
Don Barnhardt

North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 3 Nov 2016 3:37 pm    

I have been building lap steels for 3 or 4 years. It's been a learning experience. I've reached a point where they look decent and sound good but every one has a hum that I can't figure out. I'm using good components and have changed amp cords. I've resoldered all connections and have good ground connections (bridge, nut, strings, ground side of my output jacks) also use shielded wire from volume pot to output jack. I don't get any appreciable hum when I hook up my pedal steel to my amp. I expect a slight hum with single coil PU's while the hum is tolerable jamming it bothers me. I would appreciate input from other builders. It's got me stumped.

Clyde Mattocks

Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 3 Nov 2016 4:54 pm    

Are you running a ground wire to something metal that is connected physically with the strings? You need that.

Robert Allen

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 4 Nov 2016 6:22 am    

To avoid what is called a "ground loop", all grounds must come back to one common point, usually the housing of the tone or volume pot. Ground the tailpiece. Buy conductive shielding paint from Stew-Mac and paint three coats in the cavity allowing 24 hours between each coat. Apply a copper strip after the paint dries and then using a ring terminal run a wire from the copper strip to your common ground point. Every Melbert lap steel has this and I've never had a problem with hum.

Tom Pettingill

California, USA (deceased)
Post  Posted 4 Nov 2016 8:48 am    

Robert Allen wrote:
... Buy conductive shielding paint from Stew-Mac ...

Shielding the control cavity is an important part of the equation. Its not a cure for the typical 60 cycle hum, but will cut down on external EMI / RFI noise.