The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Am I Getting Too Old
Alan Sim

Lancashire, U.K.
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 7:18 am    

Hi Guys
I haven't been here for some time and I last played Steel Guitar in 2006.

I am just 69 years old and I wondered if maybe you all thought I was too old to go back to it?

I was teaching myself and I recorded 3 tracks which were well received on here.

I do not have a Steel Guitar at the moment.

So honest answers please I will not be offended.

Thanks

Alan

Erv Niehaus

Litchfield, MN, USA
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 7:24 am    

You're never too old to be a star! Very Happy

Butch Mullen

North Carolina, USA 28681
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 7:30 am    

I started learning the steel when I was 69. 6 years ago. Butch in NC

Steven Tekulsky

New York, USA
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 7:40 am     Too Old?

I just started at 63........learning slowly, but loving it!

Charlie Hansen

Halifax, NS Canada and Various Southern Towns.
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 8:15 am    

I just started at 73 so you're just a kid. I'm learning slowly but of course I do everything else slowly these days.

Dave Stroud

Texas
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 8:29 am    

I just started at 22.... it's never too late Very Happy

Larry Carlson

My Computer
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 8:35 am    

I'm 72 and I just began lap steel last year.
I don't see how age is relevant to playing except if you develop physical restrictions.
I have arthritis and I had to quit acoustic guitar.
So I found the lap steel. I love it and I'm never giving it up.
My pooches kind of wish I would quit but they have no voice in that decision...Smile

........and yes, learning seems to take a bit longer with my old brain but I am having way too much fun with it.
Sometimes it doesn't.
But I keep on trying.

Charlie McDonald

out of the blue
Post  Posted 2 Sep 2016 8:39 am     Re: Am I Getting Too Old

Alan Sim wrote: