The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Need advise on Carter PSG
Robert Halligan

Florida, USA
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2016 7:46 pm    

Hello all you Carter players out there,

I have a Carter SD-10 in great shape being shipped to me.
Emmonds copedent.
Four pedals, x is a Franklin pull.
Five levers, with vert between LL & LR.

Can I get some feedback on how these Carter guitars rate as far as materials and mechanics., also I am new to the Franklin pedal usage.

Thank you for any expert/seasoned advise & opinions.

Respectfully,

Robert Halligan.

Edward Rhea

Medford Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2016 8:56 pm    

Welcome Robert! Sounds like you found yourself a real nice one!?
Good luck to ya

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2016 10:35 pm    

A pro Carter is a fine guitar, about as good as anything out there.

(But...there will always be some gear-snob that thinks it's not as good as what he plays.) Laughing

Mike Schwartzman

Maryland, USA
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2016 12:25 am    

Welcome Robert...I believe mine is 2004 model. It's a stock SD10 with 3x5. Even with the full sized body and pad, it's a pretty lightweight steel guitar. I'm not a builder or PSG tech so I can't really comment on the materials.

I can tell you that I like the tone of it, and I can hear the loud & clear sustain of the guitar while unplugged. It may be because of the "Body Contact Technology" that Bud Carter employed in the later models. One other thing: If you like smooth and soft pedal action you'll enjoy your Carter.

Bill Ferguson

Milton, FL USA
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2016 2:39 am    

I can tell you that Carter's are built very solid, with fine woods.
I would not let mine go for any amount of money.