The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What do you guys sit on?
Paul Matthews

Westhoughton, Lancs, England
Post  Posted 7 Oct 2004 4:34 am    

I am a new steeler - had it for three weeks and been on holiday (vacation) for one of them, and was wondering what you generally sit on?

I have seen some storage seats, the look a decent idea, but don't look very adjustable.

I am currently using an ancient, borrowed drum stool that makes me stop after about 25 mins if I want to feel my legs?

Thanks,
Paul.

------------------
Absolute beginner!
Bennet Freshman E9 3+3

Matt Hutchinson

London, UK
Post  Posted 7 Oct 2004 4:45 am    

Hi Paul & welcome to the forum.

Hope you're enjoying the Bennett, I had mine for 4 years & it did me proud (wish I could say I did the same for it!). After years of using crap chairs of varying heights I bought a cheap folding keyboard bench for £14 off Ebay (new) which adjusts up to about 19" in height and is fine for me. You might want one that goes a little higher depending on your height though. It's portable, light and I can play for 2 hours without losing the feeling in my feet.

Feel free to get in touch if you want to chat to another UK steel player.

Matt

------------------
'1983 Sierra Crown gearless U12 & Fender 75'

Robert Porri

Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Post  Posted 7 Oct 2004 4:56 am    

Paul, I haven't been playing a long time, but when I bought my PSG last December I needed something adjustable for a seat. After buying the PSG, I couldn't spend a lot. I found an "On Stage Stands Extreme" folding seat at Guitar Center for I think $49 (it might have been on sale for a little less). For me it's convenient and comfortable. I may get one of the fancier PSG seats eventually, but I found this one to be a good all purpose one. I've also seen it in at least one other player's photo that was posted somewhere.

Bob P.

John Daugherty

Rolla, Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 7 Oct 2004 4:56 am