The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  For now.......Practicing WITH picks.....Gigging WITHOUT them
Jim Fogarty

Phila, Pa, USA
Post  Posted 20 Jun 2016 4:47 pm    

I've been gigging professionally on the armpit axe for @ 25 years or so.....and much of that time I've spent playing with bare fingers or with just a thumbpick. I'm super comfortable playing that way.

Now, a few months into my PSG journey (after a good 6 months on the lap steel + picks), and I STILL can't play the blasted thing even 1/2 as well with fingerpicks as I can without them! It's frustrating. I've been very diligent and committed to getting used to them and it's getting better, but.....

At the gig on Saturday, I mostly played with picks. But, I decided to play steel on a guest's tune at the last second. So, I sat down, with my Les Paul still in my lap, threw on just the thumbpick and went. Damned if I didn't play far and away better on that tune than the entire rest of the night. My blocking, single-note playing and ability to selectively choose which string, without fumbling or accidentally hitting others, was exponentially better. Dynamics, too.

Part of me wonders, with modern amplification being so good and versatile, if there's any reason to beat myself up trying to use the picks? I would think getting enough volume and attack wouldn't be an issue. Honestly, having to use them is what put me off the Dobro, years ago. I'm not going to let that happen with the PSG.

But, I will soldier on for the time being, trying to make them work. At the gigs for a while, though, they're staying off until I get my act together.

So there!! Evil Twisted

- Jim

PS.....no idea why I felt the need to post that. Just venting to people who may (or may not!!) sympathize!! LOL!!

Rick Barnhart

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 20 Jun 2016 5:48 pm