The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic

Is learning to read tabulature a necessary evil?
Yes
33%
 33%  [ 16 ]
No
52%
 52%  [ 25 ]
Grow up
14%
 14%  [ 7 ]
Total Votes : 48

Author Topic:  Steel sans Tabulature?
Joe Ribaudo

New Jersey, USA
Post  Posted 7 Mar 2016 10:38 am    

I'm afraid I already know the answer(s) to this question, but I'll throw it out there anyway...
I hate tab.
I've been playing stringed instruments for over 40 years and have gotten by just fine learning to play and figuring out licks by ear. I'm guessing there are a fair amount of forum members with similar experience.
So I guess my question is, Is Tab resistance futile?
Do I just have to get used to doing things at an agonizingly slow pace waiting for my brain to interpret those dots and convey to various body parts what finger needs to be where and which pedal and/or lever needs to be pushed or released?
Does it get better? Really?
(My apologies if this is posted in the wrong section - I couldn't see posting it in the Tab section.)

Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 7 Mar 2016 10:47 am    

With the advent of youtube, tab resistance is less of a problem than just ten years ago.
HOWEVER, there's a lot of good stuff in the tab, and it also works to involve more mental "channels" in learning.
With most of us (but everyone is different, of course), it doesn't take long for remembering where the A pedal is, or which lever raises or lowers certain strings. But the visual connection of seeing "A pedal" next to the 5th string fret number will help internalize "A pedal raises B strings."
PS: I didn't answer the poll because I didn't think any of the three fit. My answer: it's a helpful tool, but there are others. Rejecting this one can slow you down, but it won't derail you

Joachim Kettner

Germany
Post  Posted 7 Mar 2016 11:04 am