The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Another DIY Lap Steel
David Feller

United Kingdom
Post  Posted 3 Mar 2016 2:45 pm    

I started playing the lap steel about six months ago and really enjoy it. I'm not very good, but I have always loved the sound and after reading so many threads on the topic, I thought I would build a steel of my own. I have found the Artisan beginner's steel to be alright for basic learning, but not very melodic, and also I was thinking that building a steel would help me understand how they actually make sound, and thus how I could make the right sound.

With so many builds to look at, I started out looking for wood; I wanted something 50mm deep, and after checking out various woods for density, I ended up with the economical mahogany solution.

Once I had the wood [1metre long, 250mm wide, 50mm thick] , I started thinking about a design.

David Feller

United Kingdom
Post  Posted 3 Mar 2016 2:49 pm    

I really like the looks of the Gibson Ultratone, and the newer Duesenberg Pomona, and after looking at all sorts of things for inspiration (Frank Lloyd Wright windows, etc.), I woke up one morning and sketched this up in about 5 minutes. I must have figured it out in my sleep. It wasn't in proportion so much as it was the right shape and I wanted some detailing to it. I also wanted the tuning keys inline like a Telecaster so the keys were easier for me to tune, and I wanted a big scale so I would have a little more room to play. The Artisan has been difficult in that regard. I saw the Duesys use a 25.5 inch scale so that was what I decided on, too.

Joe Elk

Ohio, USA
Post  Posted 3 Mar 2016 5:58 pm    

I have build 4 lap steels I like a 24 inch. I like you concept sketch!!!!

Since You are From UK, I would get in touch James Kerr Nice feller, plays very
well and has build a number of steel guitars. He is a member of the Forum and has a lot of stuff on Utube.
Joe Elk

Keith Glendinning