The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Topic:  Where can I find a PDF file that has been downloaded?
George Kimery

Limestone, TN, USA
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2016 4:54 pm    

I am new to Windows, or whatever you call it. I have always been a Mac man, but I got a laptop given to me by the widow of a deceased friend. I have a PDF file in an email. I clicked on it, the little arrow ran in circles indicating it was being downloaded. Where did it go? On my Mac's, they always showed up as an icon on the desktop. Where would a PDF download be on this laptop?

Thanks,

George

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2016 5:22 pm    

First place I would check is the downloads folder. In Windows Explorer, it usually is towards the top of the folder list. That's where everything that I download goes to, unless I tell it to go somewhere else.

Dave Potter

Texas
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2016 5:40 pm    

It's impossible to just answer your question, due to the fact that there are so many ways things can be downloaded. The answer, therefore, has to be a generalized statement that you need to look in whatever application you used for the download for a setting that gives you the option to CHOOSE where downloads go.

It'll default to "somewhere", obviously. But you can normally change the default to somewhere else, if you prefer somewhere else. I always do that.

Mitch Drumm

Frostbite Falls, hard by Veronica Lake
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2016 7:23 pm    

It's probably in some subfolder under this location:

C:\Users\your user name whatever it is\

There will be a dozen or more folders at that location with names like downloads, my documents, my pictures, etc.

Fish around in there.

BUT-----you can change that default location through a setting in your browser to whatever you want.