The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Anybody use drop tuners?
Mike OMalley

Virginia, USA
Post  Posted 9 Feb 2016 5:40 am    

I'm still thinking about making a new lap steel, either six or eight string. Wondering about using these

http://store.hipshotproducts.com/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=87

I've never used a drop tuner like those so I have no experience with them. But thinking of tuning, say to C# in C6 and switch between C and C# instantly. You could probably also set them up to use as an effect, change chords from major to minor etc.

Are they reliable--do they give you a reliable pitch when you switch them? In general I really like hipshot's products, but I suspect you'd need top retune anyway after you switched it

Garry Vanderlinde

CA
Post  Posted 9 Feb 2016 9:03 am     String Drop

Those Hipshots look really nice! I wonder how many you could fit on a headstock?
I've been using a device called the "String Drop" from Tim Wallis. It's sort of like the Scruggs tuners on a 5-string banjo.
I do have to tweak the strings a little between the tunings, but it's a lot faster than re-tuning from the peg.
http://www.timarastringbenders.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=SD1

The tuning is (High to Low):
string
#1 = e
#2 =C/C#
#3 =G#/A
#4 =F#/G
#5 =Eb/E
#6 =C/C#
#7 =A
#8 =F

With those changes I can get these tunings on a single neck 8-string:

C6th= e C A G E C A F
A6th= e C# A F# E C# A
B11th= e C# A F# Eb C#
C#m= e C# G# F# E C#
C6/A7= e C A G E C# A

K Maul

Hadley, NY/Hobe Sound, FL
Post  Posted 16 Feb 2016 8:30 pm    

The Hipshots are great but they are designed to work only the low E string on a guitar. I've used the Wallis Stringdrop and like them. Ive never put more than 2 on any one guitar,though.