The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  great lessons
Gary Cooper

Atmore, Alabama
Post  Posted 5 May 2015 6:10 pm    

A few months ago, I posted a tab that as a new steel player I had hit the wall and literally wandering and guessing what to practice. Several of you guys suggested I get a teacher. Since there were no teachers in my area, I did a lot of research on steel players who teach via Skype. I chose John McClung. John is organized, has specific lesson plans. I am totally impressed with John. He is brillant, patient and an excellent TEACHER. I am now learning how to play and using the right technique. He is tremendous.

Brian Saulsman

Washington, USA
Post  Posted 5 May 2015 6:27 pm    

Glad to hear that Gary. I also had the privilege of working with John and agree with your comments. I really improved in many ways after my work with him. Although I am still a beginner, I am much further than I would have been without his help.

All the best.

Brian Saulsman

Hal Braun

Eustis, Florida, USA
Post  Posted 5 May 2015 8:04 pm    

Gary.. I am taking lessons from John as well, and the jury is still out. 1 month in and I still can't play like Lloyd. Think I'll try and get my money back..

JUST KIDDING JOHN!

I agree with Gary, especially on the organized lessons with tabs and sound files as well as John's attention to detail, but he still allows you enough freedom to develop your own style.

He also works with 12 string players which is a big plus for me..

Mike Perlowin

Los Angeles CA
Post  Posted 6 May 2015 2:48 am    

John is also a great player.

Ed Brooks

Seattle Washington, USA
Post  Posted 6 May 2015 7:37 am    

I started taking lessons from John just over two months ago. He has made a huge impact on my playing. The band I am in had a show a couple weeks ago and I really could see and hear the difference his lessons have made.