The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Getting tone I want - Newby question alert!!
Ken Greene

Michigan, USA
Post  Posted 21 Apr 2015 6:15 pm    

Hi,

I'm just a flat-out beginner, guitar player, semi-retired, loves pedal steel, gonna give it a shot.
I have an MSA Classic S-10 from the 70's, works great, but I feel like it sounds a bit thin. I'd like to get that rich, full-body steel sound that I hear so often and love. I realize (as a guitarist) than quite a bit of tone comes down to technique, so I do consider that. I looked into changing the pickup to a Bill Lawrence, but turns out mounting it is not so easy, and probably have to route the guitar. Don't really want to do that.
Any suggestions at all for getting a great tone with this MSA, would be greatly appreciated. Just comment on anything that comes to mind, I've got a lot to learn and I'd like to hear it all.
Thanks, and warm regards.

richard burton

Britain
Post  Posted 21 Apr 2015 8:58 pm    

You can fatten your tone up by picking 12 frets up from where your bar is.

Paul Sutherland

Placerville, California
Post  Posted 21 Apr 2015 9:21 pm    

Find someone in your area to take in person lessons with and work on tone. If that won't work, try taking lessons via Skype from someone. Try to find a good player in your area that gets good tone and get them to play your steel for a bit so you can evaluate the tone the steel is capable of achieving. Your steel is probably fine. Play others' steels and find out what kind of tone you can get with something else.

I would try all of the above before changing pickups. If you have to route the guitar to make a pickup fit, DON'T; find another pickup.

If you're just a beginner, it's way too soon to be blaming your steel for poor tone. Play the steel as it is for at least a couple years, and then reconsider.

Ken Greene

Michigan, USA
Post  Posted 21 Apr 2015 9:33 pm