The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  My BMI D10 has officially defeated me, so it's available
Don Chance

North Texas, USA
Post  Posted 17 Apr 2015 7:00 pm    

I've posted before about how I got my BMI D10 with the intention of learning how to lay down those jazzy Western Swing leads on the C6 neck, but it's just not going to happen.

I've been playing the E9 tuning for more than 30 years, but playing the C6 neck with anything like confidence and competence is just something I'm NOT going to add to my list of skills in this lifetime.

So, reluctantly, I'd like to sell it and get another user-friendly S10 model.

Don Fritsche at Beck Musical Instruments tells me it's a 1980 model, according to the serial number, and any parts it may ever need are readily available.

The only problem with it I see is that it doesn't have a case. The original case was so badly damaged when I got it - the top was even missing! - that I ended up just throwing it away.

The price? You gentlemen here at the Steel Guitar Forum know better than anyone in the world what these things are realistically worth. Those I've seen here can run as high as $2500.

I was going to ask $2000 plus shipping for it, but I decided to knock off $200 for the missing case (new custom-made ATA flight-type road cases can be had at eBay for less than $200).

So I'm asking $1800 plus shipping. That'd be a firm price.

HOWEVER, if someone has a decent little ShoBud or Emmons or BMI single-necker (3x1 is all I really need for pedals and levers) I will consider knocking off as much as a thousand or so for a trade (no MSA Red Barons or Sidekicks, or formica Mavericks or Carter Starters, or that kind of stuff, please). Just send some photos of what you have and we'll see what we can work out.

(If you're in the Dallas/Fort Worth or the OKC areas, we can meet up somewhere and save the shipping cost.)