The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Country/Pedal Steel in Austin, Texas
Eric Strange

Westbrook, Maine
Post  Posted 24 Feb 2015 8:43 pm    

Hi all,

This is my first post. I'm an amateur GFI S-10 steel player and country enthusiast. I currently am doing travel healthcare work in east Texas and my wife and I are visiting Austin this week-end. Can anyone recommend a nice place in Austin to hear some good country music and pedal steel? I appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks

Andrew Goulet

Post  Posted 24 Feb 2015 9:18 pm    

The Broken Spoke! Fantastic place with a ton of history. Almost every great country musician you can think of has played there, and it's said to still be one of Willie Nelson's favorite spots. There's a small museum attached to the main bar area full of photos and all kinds of crazy and great paraphernalia. I saw Herb Steiner play there with Alvin Crow and it was a blast. It's a good idea to get there early or consider parking in a lot a block or so away. A lot of people show up to dance.

Charlie McDonald

out of the blue
Post  Posted 25 Feb 2015 3:04 am    

The dancing is pretty close, it's a popular place. The Spoke is well famous enough to be known in Massachusetts.
I understand Linda Rondstadt was there to play long time ago; her band didn't make the flight so she had to use
who was there, Little Feat.

Eat at Threadgills while you're there, chicken-fried steak. Threadgill was friends with many musicians.
Janis Joplin was there for his birthday once with a flower garland for him to wear. 'I thought I'd give you a lei,' she said.

Erv Niehaus

Litchfield, MN, USA
Post  Posted 25 Feb 2015 8:21 am    

Than there's the Continental Club.
How about Ginny's Little Pour House?

Ethan Shaw

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 25 Feb 2015 11:30 am    

Hi Eric,
If you're here by Thursday night, come to ABGB's, where Dave Biller and I will be playing TWIN STEELS at the Waylon hoot night!

Pete Burak