The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  William Litaker lessons
Doug Frank

Columbus, OH
Post  Posted 24 Feb 2015 1:07 pm    

I started playing in 1980 and took a few Jeff Newman, Buddy Emmons, Herby Wallace seminars. First paying gig was "Best Little Whorehouse in Texas" at the Gateway Theater on Long Island and I went on to play that show for theater groups on Long Island over the next 6 or 7 years. I never became great but I was progressing in my ability.

I moved to Columbus and went back to school in 1990 but I still was woodshedding. Over the last half dozen years, however, the pedal steel was used less in groups I played with so my playing declined and diminished. I am usually the utility guy, playing bass, guitar, lap steel, mandolin, dobro,etc but seldom pedal steel. I even took up double bass 10 years ago and play in the Metropolitan Chamber Orchestra here in Columbus! After having my Sho-Bud and Marrs rebuilt a few years ago, I decided that it was time to start up again on pedal steel. There is always a time crunch but I decided to sign up for William's lessons in order to get into a practice groove.

I am enjoying the lessons and getting back into old familiar territory, slow as it may be! I like the lesson format and they are just right for getting me back to playing. Never enough time to practice the way I'd like to but the lessons are giving me a good format to follow. The price is an absolute bargain and it has been extremely helpful to me

I wanted to send this out particularly if someone is in the same boat as me and thinking of starting back up again.

Nice job, William.....great playing!

regards,

Doug

Regards, Doug

Last edited by Doug Frank on 24 Feb 2015 2:47 pm; edited 1 time in total

Howard Steinberg

St. Petersburg, Florida , USA
Post  Posted 24 Feb 2015 2:26 pm