The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  newbie here.
Michael Mathieson

New York, USA
Post  Posted 23 Jan 2015 7:53 am    

Greetings Everyone.
I have been skulking around the forums for a week or so trying to find some basic information.
Here is my situation. I had a Maverick back in the late 70's that I played (I was a rank amateur). I haven't touched a pedal steel since then but have always wanted to really learn. The other day I found an old sho bud (I believe it is a professional) at a local music store. It has been sitting in a foam case for who knows how long and all the foam has disintegrated and is stuck to the guitar/in the guitar. I am working on cleaning it up.
I can't post pic right now but it is a single neck, round head, has 3 pedals (about an inch or so wide) and 4 levers.
Is there a place on the forum that has info on the basic set up of the undercarriage? I don't remember my maverick having levers and if it did, I didn't use them.
I am trying to locate some musicians in my area(Rochester Ny) but they seem to be few and far between. Any help is appreciated. Thanks, Mike

Mike Perlowin

Los Angeles CA
Post  Posted 23 Jan 2015 1:09 pm     Re: newbie here.

Michael Mathieson wrote:

I am trying to locate some musicians in my area(Rochester Ny) but they seem to be few and far between. Any help is appreciated. Thanks, Mike

Dave Borissoff, the owner of Hipshot products is located in the Finger Lakes Area. Dave is a fine steel guitarist, and he plays a Sho-bud. He could probably help you.

Tom Gorr

Three Hills, Alberta
Post  Posted 23 Jan 2015 1:40 pm    

I have the next generation shobud..referred to as brass barrels behind two hole pullers.

The Professional model is referred to as rack and barrel..

On the two hole puller setup...I had to learn that endplate tuning is done with the change engaged so the spring end will hook on the puller and force the barrel cap to rotate. i bet you need to do the same.