The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  PayPal question
Darrell Trammell

Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2015 7:02 pm    

I have a offer on my steel locally on Craig's list. They want to pay with paypal. I have never used it before. What kind of scams do I need to look out for? Buyer is in NY wants to send 999.00 for shipping and have a currier pick it up. Something doesn't sound right.
What should I do? Thanks for advice.
Darrell

Bill Moran

Virginia, USA
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2015 7:27 pm    

Go to PayPal web site and read the security section. I think once PayPal is involved your pretty safe. Go read the security section and if your questions are not answered you can call them .

James Sission

Sugar Land,Texas USA
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2015 7:49 pm    

That's a really old scam. Read about it here.

http://www.antifraudnews.com/paypal-scams/

Darrell Trammell

Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2015 8:10 pm     paypal

Yeah I knew it was a scam wants to send me 999.00 for currier to pick up. But wants me to send western union ck to them before money is credited to my account. I will b calling them tomorrow. Seems like someone is always out to screw someone.

Damir Besic

Nashville,TN.
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2015 8:40 pm    

PayPal is the safest way to buy and sell on the internet, you send him your PayPal ID, and when they deposit the money you can ship your guitar, make sure you do all the dealings on the official PayPal website... as soon as they mention Western Union run, PayPal has nothing to do with Western Union

Damir Besic

Nashville,TN.
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2015 8:46 pm    

Quote:
You find in your Inbox an email from ‘PayPal’, confirming that the funds have been paid to you and are on hold until the Item is dispatched and you provide a Tracking Number.