The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Cajun G on MSA 10 string
Andrew Srubas

Minneapolis, MN
Post  Posted 4 Nov 2014 6:34 pm    

I am very new to Steel. I got a lap steel about last spring and was learning some cajun G. ( I'm primarily a fiddle player but wanted to branch out ) Around the end of July I picked up an MSA Super Sustain ( 10 string 3 pedal four knee ). I managed to set it for E9 and was messing around with some Tom Brumley stuff but want to get back to working on those classic Cajun turns.

How are some of you Cajun G folks setting up your guitars. I really have no what to do. I've heard some folks are using E9 but I feel like I want to try the G thing again.

What should I do?

AJ

Marty Broussard

Broussard, Louisiana, USA
Post  Posted 4 Nov 2014 8:22 pm    

Andrew, send me an email with your phone number. Be glad to discuss some options.

"Technique is really the elimination of the unnecessary..it is a constant effort to avoid any personal impediment or obstacle to achieve the smooth flow of energy and intent" Yehudi Menuhin

Mike Perlowin

Los Angeles CA
Post  Posted 5 Nov 2014 12:24 am    

You might consider getting a D-10 or 12, with an E9 one one neck and the Cajun tuning on the other.

Marty Broussard

Post  Posted 5 Nov 2014 5:04 am    

Andrew, you could tune it to D9th. Then strings 3-6, 8, & 10 provide about 95% of what you need. Just change ur string gauges.

Look at my website and find the free Cajun Steel Course. I was using E9th but the structure of the tuning is the same.

Good luck!!

"Technique is really the elimination of the unnecessary..it is a constant effort to avoid any personal impediment or obstacle to achieve the smooth flow of energy and intent" Yehudi Menuhin

Andrew Srubas

Minneapolis, MN
Post  Posted 5 Nov 2014 12:58 pm