The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  String confusion....
Marty Forrer

New Zealand
Post  Posted 24 Oct 2014 12:52 am    

As I'm a newbie, I'm finding confusion with string gauges. I see different brands with completely different gauges for the same tuning. For instance one brand will have an E tuning set running from 17 to 56, and another brand will have the same tuning using 13 to 38. Am I missing something here? I'm in the throes of building a lap steel with a multibender bridge and roller nut, and have no idea what string gauges to use.

Tony Lombardo

Alabama, USA
Post  Posted 24 Oct 2014 1:30 am    

You might want to get a copy of Andy Volk's fine book called Slide Rules. In it, he lays out all the tunings and their corresponding string gauges in a really nice way.

Jeff Mead

London, England
Post  Posted 24 Oct 2014 1:35 am    

Some people prefer heavier gauge strings and some prefer lighter ones. This choice is also dependant on the scale length of your guitar (nut to bridge). I like fairly heavy strings but 17 for a top E sounds a bit on the heavy side to me.

For the sets you used as examples, the 17 gauge E string will have to be tightened to a much higher tension than the 13 gauge to reach the note. A heavier (thicker) gauge set of strings will feel a lot less "springy" than a lighter set.

Another factor is the scale length - this varies with different guitars between about 22" and 26". I would suggest that the heaviest gauge set is intended for a shorter scale length - if you try to tune a 17 gauge E string to pitch on a 26" instrument it might break before you get there.

Typically, most people go for heavier gauge strings as you get a stronger/better tone and, unlike a regular fretted guitar, string bending isn't an issue.

There is a useful table on this page which gives some suggested gauges for different tunings and scale lengths.

http://www.hawaiiansteel.com/learning/gauges.php