The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tuning 440?
Jack Hargraves

Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2014 2:14 pm    

I have been playing Pedal steel for about four years, and there are a lot of things I don't know or understand. I have always tuned my GFI SD 10 to 440, all strings, including the pedals and knees. I've heard that some tune some strings to 440 and others to 335, etc. One in particular said he tuned his E(4th) string to 440 open, but with the LKL activated to F, he tunes the lever to 335.5 I haven't done that yet, but I just wondered if anybody else did, and if so, what is the reason for it.

James Sission

Sugar Land,Texas USA
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2014 2:49 pm    

You can expect a good deal of responses on a good old fashion tuning thread. That said, I tried several methods and ended up using Jeff Newman's tuning chart. I typically tweak it a little for whatever guitar I am playing, but it gets me close. Here is link to it:

http://www.jeffran.com/tuning.php

Ok, I going to make me some popcorn and toggle back and forth between this and the Texans game.

DG Whitley

Post  Posted 20 Oct 2014 2:55 pm    

Jack, this is a "can of worms" topic that has been debated many times on the Forum and you can do a search to find those if you'd like. I would say if you sound in tune to the band or tracks you play to, leave well enough alone.

But for the record, there are those who, like you, tune everything to 440 or "Equal Temperament" or ET. There are others (like me) who use some form of "Just Intonation" where we compromise individual string tuning to make the majority of notes and chords we play to sound in tune. You can find more info than you probably want to know in the previous discussions.

But again, if you're happy with how you tune, and you're in tune with the band you play with or the tracks you play to, why fix what isn't broken?

Just my 2 cents, YMMV.

Lane Gray

Topeka, KS