The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  6 String pedal steel in E
Stuart Docherty

Queensland, Australia
Post  Posted 7 Oct 2014 5:40 pm    

Hello all,

Now, I have seen enough of this forum to know that the title would have dissuaded most from reading this, but I hope that this topic may be useful to others such as myself, in their efforts to squeeze a sound out of a steel as noted in the subject above.

I am a guitarist, have been for a long time, an opportunity presented itself for some pedal steel with a bunch of guys I play with, up until recently I had been filling in the gaps with a lap steel.

So, I bought myself a "student" pedal steel.. 6 strings and tuned to E (not E9..), it seemed like a reasonable thing for a guitarist to do, some chord positions being in similar locations to a guitar.

This pedal steel has two pedals and one knee lever. These being set up as shown in the picture below.

Right then, while guitarists have been desiring of pedal steel licks in their playing for a longtime now, I am struggling to find the guitar in this pedal steel…

I have been looking for chords however and discovered the following options, given my set up:
I will note that for simplicity I am designating the pedals as A & B (from the left as you sit down) and as I only have one knee lever and I'm Australian, I'm going to call it "Bruce"… On second thoughts, i'll just call it K…

Open = E
A = Esu4
B = E6, C#m
K = Emaj7, G#m, B6
K + A = B7
K + B = G#sus4
A + B = A

You can see, I have multiple chord names to some of those scenarios, you may not have all of the notes but enough to use the chord…

So far, this all bodes well for a I-IV-V progression, for example: strum open for the I (E), depress pedals A + B for and IV (A) chord and depress K + A for the V (B7) chord…

All very much a work in progress… If you're exploring a similar instrument, I'd love to hear what you've discovered...

LaVern Skarzenski