The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Playing Backup rhythm
Deirdre Higgins

Connecticut, USA
Post  Posted 24 Aug 2014 1:09 pm    

This may sound like a dumb question, but please bear with me, I am fairly new to steel. I am learning songs to play solo, but what would a steel player normally do when accompanying other instruments when not playing lead? Are there certain chords to learn for that?
In the future if I ever get good enough I'd like to play with the church worship musicians. Thanks

Bill Liscomb

MA
Post  Posted 24 Aug 2014 1:42 pm    

This got me started....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n55aJNLwjEo

Practice - practice - practice!

Jean-Sebastien Gauthier

Quebec, Canada
Post  Posted 24 Aug 2014 5:47 pm    

Thats really the hardest part! I wish I can help you! I try to work on this, I think the volume pedal help a lot. I try do some fills between the vocal that embellish the melodies, sometime I play the melodies with the vocal, at unison or harmonies but it don't always sound good you have to be careful. Sometimes just some chord syncopation, like a piano sound chord or horn riff for a swing tune is cool but just for a chorus or 2. By horn riff I mean doing a phrase on the I then repeat it on the IV but lowering the 3rd...

I suggest you listening to this video, Kayton Roberts play a lot, maybe to much for a modern full band context but is a genius and in this band setting he really shines!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OfkSI5bpbzY

Adam Nero

Wisconsin
Post  Posted 24 Aug 2014 6:40 pm    

I'm no expert but I like to build through a given verse and chorus and then drop out entirely on the following verse... make 'em miss you for awhile.