The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Impressions of Stage One Zumsteel After 2 years
Daniel Policarpo

Post  Posted 11 Aug 2014 5:31 am    

Hi Everyone,
This week I will have been at the pedal steel for 2 years. I started learning the evening my Stage One Zumsteel arrived at my doorstep and plugged it into my Laney 50 watt solid state amp. I am now using a 100 watt Fender Mustang modeling amp and it sounds pretty good. With a little tweaking, comparable to the re-issue Fenders to my ears, but not comparable to my old '73 Silver Face Twin, or the other old Fenders. Not at all. But it doesn't matter for now. Someday I'll get a real '68 Twin or check out one of those new Standels, or get one of each!

Either way, I think I'll still be playing my Stage One.

There are lots of steels that look prettier, have sweet chrome end-plates, nice inlay work, exquisite looking changers and tuning heads. To me, nothing beats the look of the old Sho-Buds, ZB's and Clarks. But playing wise, staying in tune wise, functionality wise, I don't have any reason to go that way except to look prettier or get more levers and pedals. I am stuck with the 3 x 4 here, but bar slants provides a lot more flexibility in that area and plenty of range for what I want to do, which is old honky tonk music. I don't care if a never get past VFW hall shows or shotgun beer joints and you can do a lot with slants. Plus, you get a little different sound that way.

Learning this thing, I have not been very easy on the Stage One. Working up my pedal technique, I was really stomping those suckers sometimes, trying out stuff, experimenting with quick bounces as well as slow release and half pedaling. To some degree I did the same thing with the levers. I am not very hard on pedals or levers anymore, but still, the steel held up fine after those earlier months, and except for tuning them, the pedals and knees are as solid as the day I got them. They stop on the dime.