The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Fender Volume/Tone pedal?
C Dixon

Duluth, GA USA
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2003 12:14 pm    

For over 40 years I wanted one. Finally, 2 weeks ago I put out a feeler on the "buy and sell" section; In less than 5 hours got a reply from my dear friend Bobbe Seymour.

"I have a Fender in the original box (not new of course). It is from Juaquin Murphey's estate and looks great".

So, I bought it.

It arrived last Thursday. And when I plugged it in, my heart sank. The volume worked. The tone didn't. This was no great shakes really. Since my background is half electronics, I figured it would be a snap to fix.

So I took the bottom cover off of it. Didn't see anything broken or not connected. Marveled at Leo Fender's wizardy of just how he intergrated volume and tone in a single pedal. What a genious he was.

So got my trusty meter out and started testing everything. Noticed that both pots were kinda stiff. Notices what looked like possibly a bad ground on the volume pot. Noticed one of the 3 control strings was not original. Noticed that it needed a good bath. Plus some overall lubrication.

So took it completely apart. Cleaned everything thorougly. Even put silicon lube on the 3, 3" disks that the tone plate pivots on (another genious thing Leo did). Oiled the shafts of the two pots. Then put everything back. Noticed a price sticker was on the volume pot. It said $3.50. So KNEW this pot was OLD. And I mean OLD!

Noticed the tone pot was an Allen Bradley (as was the vol pot). But it had a hole in the back of it. In all my time I have never seen one like it. So it must be original.

I checked the cap with a "capicator checker" from my days as an electtonic technician. It showed perfect. Found that BOTH pots were 250K pots. And the tone pot was linear taper, The volume pot was audio taper.