The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Footware
Marc Weller

Upland, Ca. 91784
Post  Posted 26 Jan 2003 1:17 pm    

I've been playing PSG for only three or four months and I'm having a heck of a time learning to hit one pedal at a time. I have a sixtes ShoBud with wide pedals. Do I need to go out and get a pair of cowboy boots in order to play this instrument. The question might sound funny, but I am completely serious in asking.

MW

Gino Iorfida

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Post  Posted 26 Jan 2003 1:31 pm    

not odd at all. I am fairly new, and I remember when I very first started, I HAD to wear the EXACT same shoes every time I practiced etc. in order to only hit one pedal at a time (MSA Classic-- wide pedals, couple that with having to wear wide width shoes.).

I don't know if this is proper form or not, but I tend to hit single pedals with the sides of my foot, and am able to 'rock' on to other pedals etc. I also found body position ( I was too 'centered' on the steel, and after noticing Ricky Davis's video and him stating to center around the 15th fret, the pedals seemed to fall in place better etc.

I've also been finding that the longer I play, the less critical I am as far as footwear (I can wear just about any shoe I have, as well as play barefoot).

I think things will come to you in time, but Pleaxe more experienced players jump in here for any other advise ( I can use any I can get for ANY aspect of my playing!)

Erv Niehaus

Litchfield, MN, USA
Post  Posted 26 Jan 2003 1:54 pm    

I play with a loafer type shoe. I like to wear boots but they don't afford as much flexibility of the ankle and don't work as well.
Erv

Eric West

Portland, Oregon, USA, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 26 Jan 2003 2:20 pm