The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  So I wanna learn the pedal steel........
Peter Harrell

North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 31 Jul 2014 9:30 am    

Hi guys. First, I should introduce myself. I build racing engines for a living but I have gigged as a saxophone player(uneducated) for 20 years or so. Recently I have developed a sudden strange fascination with pedal steel. I really have no idea why. Anyhoo, I am in the market for one but I really have no clue what to buy. All this talk of C9,E9, 10string, 12string, etc has my head spinning.

I want to get something decent. Knowing me, it is something that I will tinker with for years so I don't want to buy junk. At the same time, I don't want to buy something I don't need.

I have tinkered with regular guitar for years although I would never call myself a guitarist. I have a suspicion that learning pedal steel may help my understanding of chords and theory and therefore improve my sax playing.

Thanks in advance guys. Any help is appreciated.

Tom Gorr

Three Hills, Alberta
Post  Posted 31 Jul 2014 10:49 am    

Hi Peter, welcome to the forum.

I think your background is well suited to playing steel, it's more machine than anything, and it takes a lot of those forms of interests and skillsets.

Kind of interesting that when I talk about some of my better toned steel guitars, I make reference to a race car engine. THAT'S TONE...haha

LOTS of players start out on old MSA models because they were well designed professional models and mass produced. The lacquer finished models seem to be the tonal preference on balance.

Finally, you must have come across Bob Reinhardt in your line of work, i'm a big fan of his Marshall derivative amps.

Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 31 Jul 2014 10:50 am    

I would start with a used pro model, single 10, three or 4 pedals and 4 or 5 knees.