The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Problem with fasteners on Carter undercarriage...
Bob Carlucci

Candor, New York, USA
Post  Posted 24 Jul 2014 4:50 pm    

The bellcranks are fastened to the square cross shafts with what looks to me to be T 15 head machine screws.. Problem is, I have 3 different T 15 bits, and they are all too big!... A T10 will go in but strips out quickly... Also, these fasteners are easily the TIGHTEST I have ever seen on a pedal steel.. wayyy overkill.. In any case I am all of a sudden at a loss. I can't move most of the damn bellcranks at all...
I was a mechanic all my life, and was around when Torx fasteners were introduced.. As far as I am aware, there is nothing between a T 10 and T 15, unless something came along after I retired that I am not aware of.. WHAT is used to take these Torx fasteners off the bellcrans???.. Maybe I need a brand new sharp T 15 driver??.. The ones I have look perfect, and I never had a problem??.. Any help from Carter owners here??... This steel is kicking my ass all of a sudden... bob

no gear list for me.. you don't have the time......

Bruce Derr

Lee, New Hampshire, USA
Post  Posted 24 Jul 2014 6:09 pm    

Hi Bob, they are T10 on mine. Hopefully you stripped the driver and not the screw! I do remember that some of those buggers were on pretty tight. I ended up getting a Craftsman T10 driver at Sears, one with a regular screwdriver handle. I tried one of their little "precision" types first but couldn't get enough torque on it. Good luck - I hope you post some pix of your new rig when you're all done with it.

Bob Carlucci

Candor, New York, USA
Post  Posted 24 Jul 2014 6:23 pm