The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  C6 Tunings and Copedants
James Quackenbush

Pomona, New York, USA
Post  Posted 10 Dec 2002 8:55 pm    

Some of you know that I am new to pedal steel and I would like to ask you guys who play a D-10 how they set up their C6 neck...I've heard of a lot of guys that play either C6 or E9 and fewer that play both... I'm seeing a more standard tuning and copedant for the E9 neck, but not as standard for the C6....Is there a standard tuning and copedant that is somewhat standard for the C6 neck ???..I'm not going to jump right in and try to understand both neck s at once, but sooner or later I want to learn both....Thanks to all for your help...

Gil Berry

Westminster, CA, USA
Post  Posted 10 Dec 2002 10:28 pm    

Jim, the C6th is probably MORE standardized than the E9th - at least for the majority of "standard" changes. Look at any of the posted copedants and you will find pedals 4 thru 8 (on a double 10) usually pretty standard, usually a 3rd string 1/2 tone lower on a knee. Top string used to be a "G" but most now have a "D" there. The problem (for me, anyway) is that there are SO MANY different chords available in a single bar position by different string combinations (even WITHOUT pedals!) that my feeble brain can't comprehend the tuning. If you play the C6th by moving the bar around to get to "standard" chord positions, i.e., "D" on 2nd fret, "E" on 4th, "F" on 5th, etc., etc... you may be able to follow the basic chords of the tune but won't get that beautiful western swing sound. (But the challenge is fun!)

Steel tryin

Macon, Ga.
Post  Posted 11 Dec 2002 6:08 am    

I believe today knee levers to lower and raise the 3rd &4th strings a 1/2 step are becoming standard

[This message was edited by Steel tryin on 11 December 2002 at 06:10 AM.]

[This message was edited by Steel tryin on 11 December 2002 at 06:12 AM.]

Jim Smith

Midlothian, TX, USA
Post  Posted 11 Dec 2002 6:21 am