The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Giving it away for free
Curt Trisko

St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Post  Posted 5 Apr 2014 8:50 pm    

Ever since I started playing steel a couple years ago, I've had this idea where I could create pedal steel overdubs for youngster amateur songwriters in the area. There's a lot of them and I bet at least a few would appreciate some steel on their songs to set them apart and add character. I think my technique, music theory knowledge, and taste are approaching the level where I can take this idea seriously.

I don't care if these songwriters can't or won't pay for it. It would just be a challenging hobby and a way for me to share my love of the instrument with others. It would also be touching to see the songwriters craft their songs and incorporate my playing into it.

Here's the thing: I don't want to be giving something away for free when some other steeler is trying to make money by providing a better product than I could. With how people exchange tracks on the internet, it could affect a steeler on the other side of the country.

On the other hand, me doing this could develop exposure for the steel that could lead to work for another steeler performing live or performing with another artist. I simply don't know how this would play out so I'm asking you. It's probably not a big deal, but there aren't many steelers and I see people complain on here about the declining amount of work that's available.

Larry Jackson

Morrilton, AR
Post  Posted 5 Apr 2014 9:58 pm    

I can see your point, Curt. It would be kind of fun to lay down a track over a new song. I'm certainly not there yet, but I can see the appeal from a creative standpoint. You might try surfing around Reverbnation. There are a lot of songwriters on there that might be interested...I'm sure there are other similar sites...

Rich Peterson

Moorhead, MN
Post  Posted 6 Apr 2014 5:29 am