The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Transporting Heavy Gear
Mike Harmon

Overland, Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 7 Jul 2002 7:57 pm    

What's the best method for moving amps and (heavy) guitars around? Do you just grab them by the case handles and heave, or do you use a 2-wheeler, dolly wheels, etc.

I am a PSG newbie with a Sho-Bud Pro III Custom and a Nashville 400, and neither of them is something I enjoy lugging around very much.

I know that at least SOME of you pros out there must make use of something a little less awkward than brute arm power.

------------------
Mike Harmon
Sho-Bud Pro III Custom
Nashville 400

Jim Cohen

Philadelphia, PA
Post  Posted 7 Jul 2002 8:27 pm    

Good question. I'm looking to buy one of those dollies that converts from flat into a handtruck. Can't remember where I saw them advertised but don't see them in the stores around here. Anyone know? Maybe it's a catalog item?

Bob Tuttle

Republic, MO 65738
Post  Posted 7 Jul 2002 8:57 pm    

Jim, They have those carts in the "American Musical Supply" catalog. They come in three different sizes. It looks like a pretty handy gadget. I've been thinking of getting one myself.

Jim Cohen

Philadelphia, PA
Post  Posted 7 Jul 2002 9:04 pm    

Thanks for the tip, Bob. I just looked them up on the web and couldn't find them listed in their catalog. But maybe it wasn't the same place. I did a search and came up with "www.americanmusical.com" Any chance you've got a different URL for them?

Bob Hoffnar

Austin, Tx
Post  Posted 7 Jul 2002 10:35 pm    

www.globalindustrial.com

These guys will have what you need.

I use this one made by Harper:
You can move the handle so it becomes a regular hand truck.

Much better prices and better service than the consumer level carts the music guys have.

Bob

[This message was edited by Bob Hoffnar on 07 July 2002 at 11:37 PM.]

George Kimery

Limestone, TN, USA
Post  Posted 8 Jul 2002 4:28 am