The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Why polished aluminum instead of chrome?
Tony Palmer

St Augustine,FL
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2002 9:45 am    

I'm wondering why the manufacturers don't plate the aluminum end plates and exposed trim chrome?
It would sure hold up better and not need polishing as often.
(I'm in the metal finishing business, so I know it can be done)

Lee Baucum

McAllen, Texas (Extreme South) The Final Frontier
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2002 10:13 am    

I believe Mullen guitars have chrome-plated steel endplates. I've been playing a Mullen since 1998 and I've never had to polish the end plates. I just wipe off the finger prints.

------------------
Lee, from South Texas

Damir Besic

Nashville,TN.
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2002 10:39 am    

Hey Tony,
since you`re in metal finishing business I have a question for you.How do you polish aluminum?Can you use ,like, a buffer (for cars)?and do you need to use some kind of polishing products (cream,paste,liquid etc)?
Thanks,Damir

------------------
http://hometown.aol.com/damirzanne/damirzanne1.html

Bill Ford

Graniteville SC Aiken
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2002 12:06 pm    

Tony,
Give us a rundown on how much it would cost to plate a set of end plates,that will be part of your answer.
As you know alloys are very finiky about pre plate prep,plus if you use steel to make parts it would add weight,also cost as much or more than castings to make and add the cost of plating etc etc etc.
Chas. help me out here buddy....

Bill Ford

------------------

richard burton

Britain
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2002 12:11 pm    

Does a steel sound any better if the end plates are polished?

Rick Collins

Claremont , CA USA
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2002 2:28 pm    

Quote:
Does a steel sound any better if the end plates are polished?
Richard, only if you are looking at it, while it is being played, truly.

Rick

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2002 5:32 pm