The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  steel tones...
Russell Fincher

Dallas, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 7 May 2002 4:13 pm    

I’m fairly new to the pedal steel, and before a start to spend some serious cash on my next guitar I’m curious about the different sounds of different steels, not tunings but tones. I know most people prefer certain brands or pickups. Is it possible for someone to break down a few general ‘sounds’ of steels and give examples of what musicians I could listen to to help me understand this?

Joey Ace

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 7 May 2002 4:25 pm    

My goodness, Russ! This is an excellent question and has the potential to bring the Best (or worst) of this forum.

Listen to the audio samples at Ricky and Rebel's site http://users.interlinks.net/rebel/steel/steel.html and see what you like.

Listen to anything by Alan Jackson to hear the commercial Nashville Sound, by Paul Franklin.corrected per below post, opps.

Listen to the Desert Rose Band to hear West Coast Sound via JD Maness, or Ralph Mooney with Buck or Waylon to hear early West Coast Style.

Listen to John Hughey with Vince Gill to hear great (I can't thing of another description) tone.

That's just a start. I'll be checking back to see what others advise.

The CD "Northern Steel" has tracks with different brands of Steel identified, MCI, Emmons, Carter, Franklin, Fender, ...

Some discussion of it at http://steelguitarforum.com/Archives/Archive-000003/HTML/20011227-1-007514.html

Here we go...

[This message was edited by Joey Ace on 07 May 2002 at 05:30 PM.]

[This message was edited by Joey Ace on 08 May 2002 at 06:10 AM.]

Larry Miller

Dothan AL,USA
Post  Posted 7 May 2002 4:34 pm    

Joey,
quote:
Listen to anything by Alan Jackson to hear the commercial Nashville Sound, by Paul Jackson.

is Paul Jackson Alans' brother?

C Dixon

Duluth, GA USA
Post  Posted 7 May 2002 5:16 pm    

Russell,