The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Fender 400 8 pedal. A good starter steel?
Ron Randall

Dallas, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 4 Apr 2002 9:35 pm    

I am a newbie to the pedal steel world and have been playing a Fender triple 8 non pedal Stringmaster for about a year now. Fun.

I have a chance to buy a cherry Fender 400 with 8 pedals. single neck.

Is this a good guitar to learn pedal steel?
I like it 'cause it is a neat old Fender and has that sound. I have no idea if it is a desirable guitar to play and learn on.

Modern steels seem to be 10 string minimum.

Any advice?
Now I will duck for cover!

------------------
Fender Stringmaster T-8
PV N400
Dobro squareneck
Dobro roundneck
Lots of Taylors

Mike Perlowin

Los Angeles CA
Post  Posted 5 Apr 2002 2:11 am    

I say no. You'll need the extra strings and knee levers sooner than you think.You need a guitar with 10 strings, 3 pedals and a minimum of 3 knee levers. A Carter Starter, or perhaps a used pro guitar.

The cool thing about the Carter Starter is that it has all the changes you'll need to learn on (unlike other student guitars.) It is IMHO the best student guitar ever made. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a pro guitar, but it does have all the essentials, and it's good enough to use on a gig if necessary.

The Fender may have a cool sound, but I guarentee you'll be frustrated with it's limitations very quickly.

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 5 Apr 2002 3:00 am