The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Marlen model 210 doubleneck pedal steel
Michael Dan Ehmig

Clearwater, FL, USA
Post  Posted 8 Mar 2002 7:58 pm    

I was given a 1971 Marlen push/pull pedal steel. I used to play a lot of lap steel but have never played pedal. I'm 52 and have some physical problems but I'm willing. My teacher, (first lesson next week), says I don't need to lubricate the steel and that I should just spray it with WD-40. I've heard that's bad. Also, are there any manuals for beginners that can teach me how the mechanisms work in this instrument? One last thing. Can I take all the strings off both necks to clean it up and then put all the strings back on? Or even one neck at a time? Thanks. I've been a writer/guitarist for years but always loved steel and slide. Michael Dan Ehmig

Gary Dunn

near Camel City, NC
Post  Posted 8 Mar 2002 8:07 pm    

Mike.

Here is a very good link.
http://www.steelguitarinfo.com/infoindex.html

Damir Besic

Nashville,TN.
Post  Posted 8 Mar 2002 8:37 pm    

Michael,
WD-40 is like a big no no in the steel guitar world (even tho I`ve been using it for a years).I wouldn`t suggest taking strings of and then putting them back on the guitar,they will brake, 3rd and 5th and 10th for sure.If you are new with a steel guitar I would rather go with a all pull guitar then a push pull (much simpler mechanism).But again that is what I think,I`m sure there will be some other ideas too so it`s going to be up to you pretty much.Take care and keep pickin` (and spending your hard earned money on guitars like we all do).
Sincerely,Damir

------------------
http://hometown.aol.com/damirzanne/damirzanne1.html

chas smith

Encino, CA, USA
Post  Posted 8 Mar 2002 10:17 pm    

WD-40 is for water displacement, that's what the wd stands for and it was the 40th variation. It's also good for lubricating sanding discs for sanding aluminum as well as a dessert topping.

Bobby Lee

Cloverdale, California, USA