The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  My Homemade Pedal Steel Guitar
W. Johnson

Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 27 Mar 2013 8:35 pm    

Hello all, this is my first post here on this forum. I'd like to share with you about my homemade guitar I've built for myself.

I used to play guitar, for about 22 years, until I got arthritis in my fingers, and about 18 years ago I had to stop. About 3 or 4 years ago, the idea occurred to me I might be able to play the pedal steel guitar. Unfortunately, the cost is way beyond my means. So, being a machinist, I decided to build one. I purchased Gluck's plans, sort of helpful, a little. I spent untold hours looking at pictures, trying to see into the mechanism of the thing, how it works. Up to this day I have only seen pictures of pedal steel guitars, I've never touched one or been around one. I looked at all the possibilities, and finally decided on my design. Basically, I wanted my guitar to be able to play full chords, I'm not so interested in playing country music. So, I wanted to be able to play major, minor, 7th, minor 7th, and major 7th chords. My final design does not play M7 chords, but does everything else I wanted it to. It has a mellow sound, not bright or 'hot', due to the kind of pickup I used, and it's placement farther away from the bridge.

Anyway, here are some pictures. I am about ready to tear it all apart again, and finish the wood, buff the aluminum. So it looks rough and unfinished. The fingerboard is just sitting on the top, as I plan to make a wood fretted fingerboard, or a brass fingerboard with frets (I think brass against the silver aluminum will look nice.)

The unique design of rockers for the pedals, and one tuning rod per finger, that both will push or pull (lower or raise)

In the following pic, you can see the small bearings I used, at each joint. In the changer fingers, I also used the same bearings.