The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  6 String Lap Steel vs. Dobro technique
Tyler George-Minetti

Burlington, Vermont, USA
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2012 1:00 pm    

Hey all- I've been playing lap steel for several years without following any real technique. I'm wondering what, if any, differences there are between 6-string lap steel and dobro technique. It seems to me that I could simply apply traditional dobro technique to 6-string lap steel.

At the moment I use open G (GBDGBD) tuning almost exclusively, which is also the standard dobro tuning. Any suggestions or insight into this question?

Thanks,

T

Jim Pitman

Waterbury Ctr. VT 05677 USA
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2012 4:32 pm    

I play both and tune GBDGBD on both as well.
My thoughts are as follows:
One can let a dobro note sustain without blocking, pluck some other notes and it doesn't become the cacophony of dissonant notes like it can become on a lap steel. I think this is just the nature of electric vs acoustic instruments in general.
I would say a Dobro has more dynamics again because of the acoustic vs/electric thing.
On the other hand a lap steel can sustain longer than a Dobro.
I'll play Sleepwalk on both and the lap steel sounds better. I 'll play Foggy Mountain Breakdown on both and the Dobro sounds better.
Keep in mind one can aggressively damp or not damp at all and any thing in between on either instrument to get a different timber or sound.
Generally I find myself palm blocking on the lap steel and pick blocking on the Dobro.
I've noticed on recordings that Dobro gets lost if there are more than a few instruments mixed in compared to a lap steel. However, it's overtones occupy a lot of bandwidth and the dobro sounds wonderful with just an acoustic guitar and bass for example.
I love slants on a lap steel - Jerry Byrd. He was the master.
I don't believe Jerry Douglass ever plays a slant on the dobro. He's also a master.