The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Greg Leisz
Devon Teran

Kansas City
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2012 10:00 am    

I'm pretty new to the world of steel but I'm completely captivated by the subtle detail work Greg Leisz does on 'Bon Iver, Bon Iver.'

What else has he done that I should be listening to?
What sort of setup does he use? What tuning is he in?

Thanks

Bill Kellum

Water Valley, MS
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2012 2:01 pm    

He is awesome. Great album. Alot of T-Bone Burnett records have Greg playing steel. As far as lately the latest Luncinda Williams has him on steel and guitar. He does some nice work on Jakob Dylan's "Women And Country". Buddy Miller's "Majestic Silver Strings". As well as Ryan Adams "Ashes & Fire", he is on a few tracks. When I ordered my Williams, Bob Rudolph told me that he uses S-12 Extended E9th tuning.

Brad Bechtel

San Francisco, CA
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2012 2:35 pm    

From all music.com:

Quote:
The word "ubiquitous" is usually placed in front of pedal steel player and guitarist Greg Leisz's name. With good reason -- the man's resumé is daunting, boasting spots with Joni Mitchell, Sheryl Crow, Peter Case, Paul Westerberg, Me'Shell NdegeOcello, Victoria Williams, Joe Cocker, Dave Alvin, k.d. lang, Wilco, Lucinda Williams, Bruce Cockburn, Shawn Colvin, Paula Cole, and the Ventures...to name a few. Not to be pigeonholed in just roots music, Leisz (pronounced "Lees") has also played with the likes of Beck, Matthew Sweet, Bad Religion, the Smashing Pumpkins, and Brian Wilson.