Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Chords
ed packard

Show Low AZ
Post  Posted 23 Sep 2011 9:46 am    

A general question on chords:

What chord types are in your arsenal?
Did chords determine your coped/setup?
What was/is your source of chord information?

What is your preferred type of music = Standards, Country, Jazz, other?

Christopher Woitach

Portland, Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 23 Sep 2011 8:03 pm    

I can play most types of chords on the steel (by NO means have I found all the voicings, of course!). The tuning and setup I use (S-12 Bb6) was chosen mostly for chords, although single lines lay better on it for me than anything else. My sources for chords are Reece Anderson, my own chord knowlage (I've been a jazz guitarist for something like 30 years), Herby Wallace, and various friends like Pete Burak and Dean Rankin who have shown me some great stuff. My preferred style is jazz, and all it's variants.

b0b

Cloverdale, CA, USA
Post  Posted 23 Sep 2011 9:04 pm     Re: Chords

• What chord types are in your arsenal?
    All of them, but I don't think of musical knowledge as an "arsenal".

• Did chords determine your coped/setup?
    Not to a great extent. It seems to me that all modern copedents include adequate chording capabilities.

• What was/is your source of chord information?
    Memory. I learned music theory a long time ago from various sources.

• What is your preferred type of music = Standards, Country, Jazz, other?
    Instrumental

Mike Perlowin

Los Angeles CA
Post  Posted 23 Sep 2011 10:05 pm     Re: Chords

b0b wrote:
  • What chord types are in your arsenal?
    All of them, but I don't think of musical knowledge as an "arsenal".

• Did chords determine your coped/setup?
    Not to a great extent. It seems to me that all modern copedents include adequate chording capabilities.

• What was/is your source of chord information?
    Memory. I learned music theory a long time ago from various sources.