The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  All chords available from my copedant
Trevor Marshall

Amesbury, Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Post  Posted 31 Oct 2010 3:09 pm    

I've just joined the forum & am just starting out on pedal steel guitar. I've sort of wanted to get one for years & bought the set of Steel Guitarist magazines from Tom Bradshaw and a Brad Sarno Steel Guitar Black Box (which is great for many things) years ago, both of which interested and encouraged me to continue.
I have now bought an old Bennett D10 8x7 which I've fixed up and I am really enjoying trying to understand all the possibilities. I don't think there are any other instruments where you can easily slur two or more notes at once, simultaneously up and down against a pedal tone.
I have played 6 string guitar & other instruments (self taught) for up to 30 years & know over 1000 songs so I want to learn how to play some of these songs on PSG.
I am trying to learn on two main fronts. One is from instructional material & watching/listening to experienced players & records and trying to understand the evolution of the instrument, why it's tuned the way it is & why certain copedant layouts have become popular, what licks and pockets are useful, sound great etc. So I've bought every PSG book I can find & also got some CD & DVD courses - I've found it much more difficult to find C6th material but have found some & am starting to fathom it out.