The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Lubricants for Steel Guitars
Mickey Adams

Bandera Texas
Post  Posted 28 Jul 2010 10:11 am    

Although I'm rather new at the steel guitar refurbishing game, Id like to start this thread on the issue of lubricating steel guitars, and share my thoughts whats good, bad, right and wrong.
We all have good ideas to share and Id like ask all of you what your opinion is. This stems from another recent event where I drove for 2 hours to look at a major brand name steel guitar that had a reasonable asking price put on it. I went with cash in hand with every intention of coming home with this entire rig. In the end I didn't and the owner was rather insulted at my offer. I tried to be very polite about my assessment of the guitar, but to no avail.
The guitar in question is 15 years old, has 8 pedals and 6 levers. After inspecting the mica, and the general condition of the guitar, we proceeded to turn it over and check all of the mechanisms. Petroleum based lubricants, as well as WD-40, were used on this guitar for several years, and were no way strategically applied. They were applied to places that needed no lubricating at all. 8 of the fingers, when activated took more than 2 seconds to ALMOST return to the neutral position. 3 Fingers didn't work at all. Upon inspecting the changer closely, contaminants had collected en mass..and virtually rendered the guitar unplayable. IMHO, this is definitely a case where the PROPER way to address this would be a complete teardown, thorough cleaning, and reassembly. This would be the only way to REALLY be sure that it would function upon rebuilding...Am I wrong here??