The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Altec 418B: open or closed back cabinet?
Cliff Kane

the late great golden state
Post  Posted 14 Nov 2009 8:59 pm    

Hi folks,
I have an Altec 418B speaker that I would like to put into a cabinet. Will this speaker sound and work best in a closed back cabinet or an open back cabinet? I've never played through a 418B. This speaker will be used for steel guitar and standard electric guitar.
Any preferences on what way to go with the Altec?

Thanks!
Cliff

Jim Dickinson

Washington, USA
Post  Posted 15 Nov 2009 9:17 am    

I grew up working in my family's sound company, our main line of product was ALTEC Lansing, if you cut me I'll still bleed green. I am using a 12" 417 with my Dual Pro, although I am a beginner, I love the transparancy of the Altec speakers.

From my experiece, a 418 likes a closed box better than an open back, although that can be up to what you want to hear. I just ran the Win ISD box prgram on a 418, it says inside volume, of 2.55 cubic feer plus .25 for the speaker will get you flat to about 75Hz, plenty for your use. Says to tune it to 65Hz, use abour a 4.5 inch round port or equivilent. Win ISD is a free shareware program, works well.

I would not go under about two cubic feet, less volume will produce less bass, although you have to decide what you need. I have seen then in boxes as small as a cubic foot.

The 418 is a quick nicely behaved speaker, it will be some faster than a JBL D130 with a more detail. I sold quite a few to steel guitar players years ago, they liked them.

Jim

Cliff Kane

Post  Posted 15 Nov 2009 7:13 pm    

Jim,
thanks for this great info. This is very helpful. Much appreciated.

Cliff

Larry Bell

Englewood, Florida
Post  Posted 16 Nov 2009 8:39 am