The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What brand and or model tuner do you use?
Chuck Hall

Warner Robins, Ga, USA
Post  Posted 29 Mar 2009 8:42 am    

If you don't use a peterson, which tuner do you use and why?

I have been using a Boss TU-12 for years and have gotten used to it. Since I tune to 434, 438, 439, 441 etc., I like to see the needle move.

What do you use? Remembering that a lot of newby's will be reading this post.

Chuck Surprised

Chuck Snider

West Virginia, USA - Morgantown, WV
Post  Posted 29 Mar 2009 9:08 am    

I'm still a newbie (since July '0Cool and am currently using a Peterson Stroboflip. I had been using a Boss TU-15 (similar to the TU-12) and was pretty happy with it. Although I saw all the great raves about the Stroboflip, and figured when i grow up I'm gonna get me one of those. Well, back in December or January MusiciansFriend had them on sale for $169, and I figured at that price I might be able to justify getting one right away.

Well, after getting it, I was a little disappointed, as I was just as close with my TU-15 as with the StroboFlip. I don't want to give the wrong impression the Peterson tuner is a very good tuner, and due to the pre-programming as well as the capability to program my own specific tunnings. However, it wasn't necessarily a "life changing event" like I thought it would be.

My point is, for the other newbies out there that are currently using other tuners, most likely what you have is adequate, and you shouldn't feel you just have to have one of these StroboFlip to improve your sound. The StroboFlip does have loads of capability for other instruments and special programming, but I think I could've lived without it. I would have been just fine with a Boss TU-15 or TU-12 at less than half the cost of the StroboFlip.

Please don't take this as putting down the Peterson tuner, it is a great tuner. Think of it as a Cadillac, when you might only need a VW.